

Nebraska Cooperative Council Education Foundation 635 S. 14th St. Suite 125, Lincoln, NE 68508 PH: 402/475-6555 FAX: 402/475-4538

News Release

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT: Adam Feser Director of Cooperative Advancement 402/475-6555 or adam@nebr.coop

WINNERS OF STATE FFA COOPERATIVE SPEAKING EVENT ANNOUNCED

LINCOLN, NE (April 4, 2023) – Awards were presented to 32 FFA members for their speaking skills and knowledge of cooperatives during a special awards ceremony on March 31, 2023. The FFA Cooperative Speaking Event is held during the State FFA Convention which was March 29-31 in Lincoln.

Each contestant in the Cooperative Speaking Competition was judged on a six- to eightminute prepared speech on a topic dealing with cooperatives and their benefits to the local, state and national economies. Participants were selected for the competition at district contests throughout the state over the past several months.

The competition is sponsored by the Nebraska Cooperative Council Education Foundation in an effort to help develop leadership skills and increase understanding of the cooperative system. 2023 marks the 72nd consecutive year that the Council or its Education Foundation has supported the Nebraska FFA Association.

William Paxton from the Stuart FFA Chapter took top honors in the 2023 competition and received a trophy, first place medal, and check for \$250 from the NCC Education Foundation. Second place went to Sam Hemmenway of the Elgin FFA Chapter along with a medal and check for \$125. Third place went to Mary Worthing of the Arthur County FFA Chapter who received a medal and check for \$75.

Also receiving medals in the competition and the FFA chapters they represent were (in alphabetical order):

- <u>Gold</u> Ashley Bonifas, Silver Lake; Keyera Eisenhauer, Elgin; Cali Gutz, Osmond; Makayla Johnson, Wilcox-Hildreth; Maria Moseman, Riverside; Melany Priester, Boone Central; Shyla Sacido, Alliance; Jacob Wollenburg, Tri-County; Grace Wysocki, Battle Creek
- <u>Silver</u> Copeland Carstens, Pleasanton; Logan Consbruck, West Point; November Diers, Chadron; Caitlyn Dolezal, Perkins County; Lilly Flynn, Mead; Austin Hatterman, Wisner-Pilger; Baily Holtmier, Meridian; Evelyn Kucera, Verdigre; Alex Pierce, East Butler; Austin Rumbeck, Amherst; Maddie Thober, Riverside; Annsley Vernon, York
- <u>Bronze</u> Sydney Aldrich, TCA; Mathew Applegate, Bayard; Holten Carstens, Pleasanton; Sophie Dvorak, Howells-Dodge; Elizabeth Fetty, Stapleton; Kinsley Oestmann, Johnson Brock; Sydney Reeves, Leigh

Rocky Weber, NCCEF President, indicated that "The Council is proud to provide support for these students as they develop their leadership and communication skills while at the same time learning about the value cooperatives bring to Nebraskans all across the state."